

Northwest Arctic Borough

163 Lagoon Street
P.O. Box 1110 Kotzebue, Alaska 99752
(907) 442-2500 Fax (907) 442-2930
www.nwabor.org

NOTICE OF GENERAL ELECTION

ON TUESDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2024, THE NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH WILL HOLD ITS GENERAL ELECTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ALASKA STATUTE CHAPTER 29.26 AND CHAPTER 4.04 OF THE NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH CODE FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING OFFICIALS FOR TERMS IN THE FOLLOWING PRECINCTS AS DESCRIBED IN 6 AAC 240.002-040:

NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH MAYORAL CANDIDATES - 3-year term

Borough-wide Dickie J. Moto and Carl Nasruk Weisner

NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH ASSEMBLY CANDIDATES- 3-year term

District 1 Seat A Elmer Armstrong Jr, Walter W. Downey, and Elsie B. Sampson

District 1 Seat B Austin Swan Sr. District 4 Seat J Reid Magdanz

District 4 Seat K Walter G. Sampson and Johnson Greene

NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT CANDIDATES – 1-year term

District 1 Seat C Vacant

NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT CANDIDATES - 3-year term

District 1 Seat A Vacant

District 1 Seat B Millie Hawley

District 2 Seat D Vacant

District 3 Seat F Shannon Melton

POLLING PLACES

Ambler Armory Bldg Buckland School Deering Community Hall Kiana New Com Bldg Kivalina Armory Bldg Kobuk Assembly Room Noatak IRA Bldg Noorvik Community Bldg Shungnak Coffee House Selawik Community Hall Kotzebue Northwest Arctic Borough Building

The polls will be open from 8:00 A.M. until 8:00 P.M. on Tuesday, October 1, 2024, General Election Day. The ballots will be counted at the polling places.

VOTER QUALIFICATIONS

"Voter" means a United States citizen who is qualified and registered to vote in state elections and has been a resident of the Borough for at least thirty (30) days preceding the election and is and is not disqualified.

Political campaigning is prohibited within 200 feet of any entrance to a polling place. (AS 15.15.170)

If you have any questions, please contact the Borough Clerk's Office at (800) 478-1110 ext. 8205; or direct at (907)442-8205. Posted September 5, 2024.